Introducing: A Glossary Of Sewing Terms & Tools.

glossary

The rise of the Handmade industry has swung the doors of the cottage and craft business wide open resulting in innumerable home based business  raining down on us through the internet like pixy dust — all pretty and shiny and mesmerizing.

Crafty mums and dads now have the opportunity to work from home; either to supplement their income or even support their families.

Crafters have also benefited greatly from these new booming commercial enterprises with more choices, options and availability than ever before.

BUT … as with anything big, new and shiny, there comes complications, especially in an international community . For example, what people call things;  in Australia we have ‘boots’ at the back of our cars, but in the USA, they have ‘trunks’.  These little differences are fun sometimes, but other times they can cause confusion and frustration.   There have been many discussions on the ‘While She Naps’ FaceBook forum between it’s members about the difference between muslin (USA) and calico (Auzzie) – to name just one example.

So … to help people understand what I mean when I use certain sewing terms, techniques and tools, I have started two new pages under the main heading of GLOSSARY.                   On one page I have started to list different Sewing Terms and Techniques I use in my patterns.  I have a brief description with pictures — I love using pictures because it is so much quicker and easier to know exactly what someone is talking about 😉

NittensAndPatches_Glossery_Filling-Firmness

On the second page I will be listing the different Tools and Notions I uses in my patterns, again with pictures.  That way you will be able to see exactly what I’m talking about and even if that particular tool or notion is not available to you, you will have a better idea of what you can use instead.

I will update these pages regularly, so don’t forget to check on them from time to time to see what’s new.  And if there is something you would like to know that I haven’t covered yet, please let me know by leaving a comment below on one of the pages or here.

Until next time … Signature-pink

NittensAndPatches_Glossary-Post_Davie

Comments

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

