The best laid plans of Mice & Men!

Title illustration from The Tale of Two Bad Mice
Title illustration from The Tale of Two Bad Mice (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I first heard the phrase ‘The Best Laid Plans of Mice & Men’ was in a high school biology class. It was the title of a work book we used to study the

English: Robert Burns Source: Image:Robert bur...
Robert Burns
1759 ~1796

growth of baby mice … well, that was the purpose of the exercise.  My little group spent more time playing with the baby mice the studying them.

According to Phrase Finder the origin of the phrase was a poem by Robert Burns (1786), which was an apology to a mouse whose home he   accidentally dug up while ploughing his field.  Thankfully Phrase Finder has also provide translations for some of the lines, otherwise I would have had no idea what some of it was saying.  The following is only one stanza, the full poem can be found here.

But, Mousie, thou art no thy lane [you aren’t alone] 
In proving foresight may be vain:
The best laid schemes o’ mice an’ men
Gang aft a-gley, [often go awry] 
An’ lea’e us nought but grief an’ pain,
For promised joy.

My week has been a little that way, although not as bad as the poor little mouse in the poem thankfully.   But I did have plans of what I wanted to accomplish this week & they did get turned upside down a little.   Why is that you might be thinking …?

machineing_ballerina_dolls_leg

One of the biggest challenges of working from home is time management.  It’s all too easy to let thing get away from you, to find yourself spending too much time on the wrong jobs & not enough time on the things that you really should be doing.  So what was it that go me so distracted & off track this week … an interview!  In fact my very first interview ever {via Skype}.

The interview itself wasn’t the problem, I was very happy to do it.  The problem came in with a combination of my lack of foresight & my habit of being just a bit too fussy about things being just right.  I have know about the interview for a few months & I have also know that my internet connection is not the best for skype video {we can only get ADSL1}.

Better Planning!

So how could I have planned for this better?  Well, I could have thought a little more about the alternatives options to compensate for the poor video quality & prepared some photo’s & video of my own to send to Alen {the interviewer from NEIS} BEFORE this week.  This would have saved me a lot of time Tuesday & Wednesday afternoon.  Rather than feeling rushed to get it all done in time for him to be able to work on it all Wednesday after the interview.  Basicly I lost the best part of two whole days in the end.

work_space
My little work space 🙂 … for the most part 😉

And of course there is the fussing part.  Not sure what I can do about that.  Alan asked for some shots of where I work & where we live.  He didn’t want me to clean it all up & make it pretty, he wanted that raw – real life feel to it all I think, but you know I just had to fuss with it all  … just a little … move some of the little ‘rat’ piles that seem to build up … remove stuff that doesn’t fit with the scene of making soft toys at home {like shirts that need a bit of attention}, & of course I had to put toys up here & there, after all that’s what it’s all about – for me anyway   🙂   Normally the completed toys live upstairs in our bedroom in large plastic storage containers so they stay nice & clean until they are shipped off to their new homes.

I’m not sure yet when the interview will be ready for the world.  I believe it will be uploaded to youtube.  When I find out you will be the first to know  …   😉

Until then, hope you have a super week …

Love Mignon, Georgie & Little Ted   🙂Georgie_in_work_space

Comments

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

