New Patterns for Easter + Monthly Report for NEIS.

Easter postcard circa early 20th century
Easter postcard circa early 20th century (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I looked up the calendar the other day to see when Easter was this year … just 7 week from today.  Time to get busy making some things for Easter. I already had a couple ideas for Easter but I wanted to something else as well.  Bunny’s & chickens are always great so I went looking for some cute patterns of bunnies & chickens that would be great for Easter.  This bunny

Rita Rabbit

from ‘Oh Sew Dollin’ is the first one.  As you can see, she is still a work in progress.  I am having so much fun making her I decided last night when I have finished her I will make another, but this one I will make a boy.  I’ll be posting progress pictures to the Nittens & Patches FaceBook page (don’t forget to click the ‘Like’ button to get up-dates) for you to follow & as soon as they are finished I’ll add them to my shop.   🙂

NEIS Report.

The other thing I have been working on this week in my monthly report for NEIS.  It’s not too long or complex – just one little page – a couple of YES/NO questions – a couple of sections to write a little about how things have been going, if I’m having any problems, what I’m are doing or trying out to address these problems – that sort of thing.  Nothing too scary.  But before I can fill in the form I have to make sure all my books are up to-date & I’m aware of where I believed/was hoping the Nittens & Patches would be in January.  This means having a bit of a look back at my business plan &  checking to see if I have been doing what I planned to do.

What advertising did I plan for January?

Did I do it or did I decide I needed to do something a bit different?

Expenses!

Did I stick to my predicted budget – or not?   😉

It’s a valuable exercise, helping me to get into the habit of regularly checking where the business is at.  From what I have seen, business’s don’t generally go wrong overnight, most times it’s a slow process; spending a little too much here, not being profitable enough there; if you are keeping you books up to-date & constantly monitoring you progress you are far more likely to catch these problems early & take steps to correct them before they become to damaging.  It can be a bit of a pain to do, after all, paper work isn’t what most of up signed up for, but it is a reality of doing business – of being ‘successful’ in business.

Here is a great post on this very subject by Jess from Create & Thrive.

Well – I have a bunny waiting patiently for a face & some cloths …

Hope you are having a super week … bye for now

Love Mignon & Georgie   🙂

Georgie Jan 2013

Comments

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

