An Apple a day … and New Shipping Policy.

Last week I showed you some new things I was making for shop.  Here are some more photos & a bit more info on the newest additions to the Nittens & Patches shop.  The apple appliqué design I have used in these items is my own design & can only be found here.

Art Smock -apple2

Apple bag 4
Apple appliqué details. Click on picture for a closer look 🙂

First is the Art Smock.  I thought about using vinyl or fabric with a layer of PVC over the top, but here in Australia it can get very hot in summer.  Plus vinyl & PVC are both chemical based products.  When I am deciding on what to use in a product I Ask myself  “would I be happy to use this for my own child or grand child?”  As a family we are always looking for ways to help improve our health & our environment.  Reducing our exposure to chemicals is one of the things that is high on our list.  As a result I chose to make the Art Smock (& the other 3 items below) from pre-washed poly/cotton fabric. OK, so there is still a bit a chemical there (something I’m working on reducing) but it’s a start.  The appliquéd apple is made from 100% quilters cotton & has been hand stitched on using blanket stitch & back stitch for the details.

pencil case collage WP

I have also made a Pencil Case using the same fabrics so they coordinate.  On one side I have hand embroidered the face from the apple appliqué design & on the other side I have used the same red quilters cotton & a red lining  The bright yellow zip is a third of the way down from the top  making it easy to see what is inside but the pencils (or what ever is kept inside) doesn’t spill out all over the table.  It is approximately 22.5 cm by 12.5 cm (8 3/4 inches by 4 3/4 inches).  (please note that yellow fabric much brighter than it seems in this photo.  It is the same fabric as the art smock)

Tote Bag -apple2

Next is the Book Bag/Tote I showed you last week.  It is 28 cm by 35 cm (11 inch by 13 1/2 inches) & the straps are approximately 45 cm (17 1/2 inches) long.  The base of any bag or tote can cop a fare amount of wear & tear so I have re-enforced the base of this Book Bag/Tote with an extra layer of coordinating  fabric & interfacing to make it stronger.

Water Bottle Cover collage

Insulation wadding used in Water Bottle Cover.  It has a thin layer of foil running through the middle.
Insulation wadding used in Water Bottle Cover. It has a thin layer of foil running through the middle.

And finally the Water Bottle Cover.  Again this has been made from the same fabrics to coordinate & has the same happy-smiley face design.  I have used special insulation wadding to help keep drinks cooler & the lining is a water resistant nylon.  It can hold a 350 ml or 500 ml bottle & the strap is approximately   76 cm (29 1/2 inches) long.

All of theses are currently available to buy from the Nittens & Patches shop, but remember, there is only one of each. Next week I will have a new collection, but in a different colour & a different appliqué design.

Don’t forget the 50% Off Selected Items sale – finishes in just 6 days so don’t miss out.   🙂

New Shipping Policy.

I am currently reviewing the store policies & I have introduced a new Shipping policy — Buy 3 or More Items in One Transaction & receive FREE SHIPPING with  Insurance & Tracking.  🙂

Hope you are having a super week, until next time …

Love Mignon & Georgie  🙂Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Comments

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

