From ‘Fresh Starts & New Beginnings’ to ‘Turning Tides’. Pt 2

Last year everyone was say 2012 was the year of ‘Fresh Starts, New beginnings’, this year everyone is saying ‘The Tide is Turning.’  What does this mean?  After a quick Google search of the term it seem to basically refer to a change in direction of something.

Charlie the gecko 3

So what is in store for the coming year?  Without t a crystal ball that’s a bit hard to say.  As last year came to a close many of the business blogs I read were all encouraging their readers to review their business planes for the coming year.  Everyone seemed to have their own way of doing this.

Karen Gunton from ‘build a little bizz’ found several planning & organizational tools & publications to help keep us organized & on track for 2013.  http://buildalittlebiz.com/blog/are-you-working-on-a-biz-plan-for-2013

Fruit Ladies purse 1In her newsletter  Karen also shared how this post from Chris Brogan … http://www.chrisbrogan.com/3words2012/  had helped her plane her year in 2012.  In this post Chris talks about choosing just 3 words that sum up your goals for the next 12 months.  In the post he share his 3 words for 2012 & how he would use them to motivate himself throughout the year.

This post from ‘The Mogul Mom’ is similar to Chris’s approach.  Heather has set out ‘5 ways to set yourself up for success in 2013’.  I really like the distinction Heather makes at the beginning between a Resolution – ‘…a firm decision to do or not do something’ & a Goal – ‘…the result or achievement toward which effort is directed’.    http://www.themogulmom.com/2012/12/success-in-2013/

Shelby 1

And finally, Stan Smith came up with 10 Blogging Commandments  for success for us to
follow in his December 31 post.  I really like these 10 commandments, I’ve printed them off & have them hanging near my computer desk to help remind me everyday.  http://pushingsocial.com/

There are many many more similar post floating around out there

& I’m sure many of them are filled with very useful information, but one thing I came to realise towards the end of last year was that I needed to just pick a small hand full – 3 or 4 people who I feel I connect with in some way & focus on their posts.

make up4

I really like Stan Smiths 10 Blogging commandments because they are something I can work on throughout the year.  Some I am already doing, others I’m not sure about.  This month I am focusing on number 1 – ‘Thou Shalt write Every Day’ .  I have set myself a goal of spending 30 minutes a day – Monday to Friday working on a post.  If I can do this not only should I be able to achieve number 2 – Thou Shalt Publish Once a Week’ without having to work at it, but I should also be able to get a little ahead for those very busy production times throughout the year when I need to be spending more time with my sewing machine than my computer.

I also liked Chris Brogan’s 3 Words.  The 3 word I chose were …

PicMonkey Collage2 30-11-12BUILD This one is a bit obvious – build my business, take it from start up to financial independence by the next Christmas.   🙂

LEARN – Again this one is a bit of a ‘no-brainer’.  Being new to online business there are many things to learn & master or simply to get my head around enough to use them effectively.

FUN  – Towards the end of the Small Business Management course I did with BRACE, I started to get a bit stressed when I realised I would not start operating until 2 week before Christmas.  I knew this was WAY too late to take advantage of the Christmas shopping spree, but there was not much I thought I could do about it at the time.  Eventually I realised it really didn’t matter, being stressed over it wasn’t going to change anything, made me grumpy & took all the fun out of doing something I really enjoy doing.

So this year I my goals are to build Nittens & Patches as a business by learning how to use the social Media to stay in contact with you, too keep you up to date with store up-dates, specials & new products & we are going to have a lot of fun while we do it   🙂

So click on the  ‘FOLLOW’ button on the right hand tool bar to receive post updates by email, or find Nittens & Patches on Twitter, Facebook & Pinterest.  And don’t forget to share your thoughts by leaving a comment, I would really love to hear what you have to share.

Until next time …

Love Mignon & Georgie   🙂Exif_JPEG_PICTURE

Comments

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

